Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomato and Spinach Salad

As part of the Whole Foods Market Stock a Healthier Pantry for $50 promotion, I am using their list of pantry staples (listed below) to create healthy, flavorful and affordable meals. Today I used the vacuum packed sun-dried tomatoes, without oil, to make a fabulous salad for my fiancé and I for lunch. Although I used a bottled Italian salad dressing (I happened to have one in the fridge that needed to be used up), I would normally have made my own marinade and dressing, probably using olive oil, rice wine vinegar, Dijon mustard and lots of garlic.

The original recipe was from All Recipes, for a bruchetta appetizer. Instead I served it as a salad, with grilled baguette on the side. Either way, this was quick and easy, and a totally satisfying lunch.

Whole Foods Market will be giving away healthy pantry staples for a year as well as several of their $50 Pantry Stock Ups. You can enter on the Whole Foods Blog until January 31st. I am also giving away a $50 gift certificate to the Whole Foods Market in Durham on this blog. All you have to do is subscribe to my blog, leave a comment that you have done so and tell me what healthy pantry staple you can’t live without. Deadline to enter is January 31st and the winner announced Feb 3rd. All comments from each blog post are eligible to win. Read the original blog entry here.

Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomato and Spinach Salad

Marinated chicken, spinach, feta, and sun-dried tomatoes are tossed with dressing for a healthy light dinner any time of year!”

Ingredients:

2 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1 1/4 cups Italian salad dressing, divided

4 cups fresh spinach, torn

1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese

8 sun-dried tomatoes, packed without oil, chopped

1/4 cup toasted walnuts or pecans (this was my addition to the recipe, I love a salad with nuts)

Directions:

Place the chicken and 1 cup salad dressing in a bowl. Cover, and marinate at least 3 hours in the refrigerator.

Preheat the grill for high heat.

Lightly oil the grill grate. Discard dressing used for marinating, and grill chicken 7 minutes per side, or until juices run clear. Cool and shred.

In a large bowl, mix the cooked chicken, spinach, feta cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, walnuts or pecans and remaining dressing.

Place desired amount of salad on a plate with grilled baguette on the side.

Eat and Enjoy!

Whole Foods Market $50 Pantry Staple List

  • 1 lb black beans
  • 1 lb lentils
  • 1 lb quinoa
  • 2 lbs brown rice
  • 3 (32-oz) boxes vegetable broth
  • 1 (32-oz) box chicken broth
  • 1 lb rolled oats
  • 2 cans cannellini beans
  • 1 lb orechiette pasta
  • 1 lb pasta, your favorite kind
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 jar unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 (32-oz) box unsweetened soymilk
  • 1 (32-oz) box unsweetened almondmilk
  • 1 (5-oz) can tuna
  • 3 (15-oz) cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 package no-oil sundried tomatoes
  • 1 jar pasta sauce

Whole Foods Market priced these from their 365 Everyday Value® line and the list came in around $50

Disclaimer: Whole Foods Market provided me with the pantry staples.

7 thoughts on “Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomato and Spinach Salad

  1. My spopuse and I stumbled over here from a different web pagge
    and thought I might as well check things out. Ilike what I see soo now
    i am following you. Look forward tto looking into your web page
    yet again.

  2. “Chicken, Sun-Dried Tomato and Spinach Salad | Durham Foodie” Vertical Blinds was
    a wonderful posting. If perhaps it possessed alot more pics it would probably be perhaps even a lot better.
    Take care -Dwayne

  3. What a fantastic idea! Great use of health pantry items – it’s surprising, I think, to many folks that Whole Foods doesn’t have to be ridiculously expensive. Smarter shopping.

Leave a comment