Win Pantry Staples from Whole Foods Market for a Year

To celebrate the New Year, Whole Foods Market wants to show you that eating healthy can be affordable. To do this, they have provided a list of pantry staples, from beans, grains and oats to broth, diced tomatoes and pasta sauce, all for 50 Bucks. Just add fresh ingredients and spices and you’ll have everything you need to cook 14 of their favorite recipes (listed below), or use your own.

Courtesy of Whole Foods
As part of the Stock a Healthier Pantry for $50 promotion, Whole Foods Market will be giving away healthy pantry staples for a year as well as several of their $50 Pantry Stock Ups. You can enter on the Whole Foods Blog until January 31st.

I too have committed to the healthy pantry challenge and will be spending this next week posting some of the recipes I’ve prepared  using the Whole Foods Market Pantry Stock-Ups.

As part of the promotion, I will be giving away a $50 gift certificate to the Whole Foods Market in Durham, NC. All you have to do is subscribe to my blog, leave a comment that you have done so and tell me what healthy pantry staple you can’t live without. Deadline to enter is January 31st and the winner announced Feb 3rd.

So let’s kick-off the New Year with a commitment to eat healthy and affordably.

Whole Foods Market $50 Pantry Staple List

  • 1 lb black beans
    Courtesy of Whole Foods
  • 1 lb lentils
  • 1 lb quinoa
  • 2 lbs brown rice
  • 3 (32-oz) boxes vegetable broth
  • 1 (32-oz) box chicken broth
  • 1 lb rolled oats
  • 2 cans cannellini beans
  • 1 lb orechiette pasta
  • 1 lb pasta, your favorite kind
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 jar unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 (32-oz) box unsweetened soymilk
  • 1 (32-oz) box unsweetened almondmilk
  • 1 (5-oz) can tuna
  • 3 (15-oz) cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 package no-oil sundried tomatoes
  • 1 jar pasta sauce

Whole Foods Market priced these from their 365 Everyday Value® line and the list came in around $50

Now that you have a well-stocked pantry, just add fresh ingredients, herbs and spices to be able to cook all of these recipes:

“Some of these recipes make six servings and some make four. Altogether you’ll get a total of 66 servings with some leftover ingredients for future recipes.”

Disclaimer: I was given the $50 Pantry Staples Stock-up and the $50 gift certificate to give away as part of the promotion and to help spread the word.

24 thoughts on “Win Pantry Staples from Whole Foods Market for a Year

  1. I’ve subscribed. Canned tomatoes are my staple once we run out of fresh tomato sauce that I put up in the summer.

  2. Subscribed! DEFINITELY can’t live without brown rice. With so many stir-fry friendly veggies that grow in this area, we make Asian inspired food all the time–but only with brown rice (from the bulk section at Whole Foods!)

    1. Hi Brooke — Honestly, most of these things I use faestr than they go bad, so I don’t really worry about expiration dates. But Tellfresh has a clip-on, reusable label that goes on the side of the container where you can write down how long it’s been there, if you want to use those.

  3. I subscribed! I am currently enjoying oatmeal as a pantry staple fave. It is filling and hearty on a winter morning. Did I mention budget friendly, too?

  4. I subscribed! Found your blog through the Durham Whole Foods feed on Facebook!

    My favorite pantry sample is quinoa. It’s quick, it’s good for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  5. My favorite pantry staples are quinoa and canned beans. I use the quinoa for healthy lunches to take to work and the canned beans are a handy (and inexpensive) protein that I use in so many different ways!

  6. I have subscribed to your blog and enjoy reading it to stay aware of foodie events in the area as well as learn new recipes. My must have staple is unsweetened apple sauce. I enjoy eating it throughout the day and find that it is a great thing to pack in lunches.

  7. I have been a subscriber for a couple of months and get email alerts. Am a fan of Jubala Village Coffee becauseof you. Am currently not working, so making the pantry budget stretch is key. I use WF canned tomatoes for my Tex-Mex, pasta, and a family favorite, breakfast “guiso”.

  8. Hi! I recently moved from Brooklyn to Chapel Hill and have loved reading your blog over the past few months. I just officially subscribed. As for a healthy pantry staple that I can’t live without – I would have to go with pasta. My boyfriend and I are living on a student budget and would probably eat it every night if we could. One of our favorite dishes is rigatoni, sausage, kale, and a little splash of cream. 1 lb. of pasta can make 6-8 servings!

  9. I have been a subscriber through tootle for a while. Almost all of my staples are 365 brand. You can’t beat penned pasts from Italy for 99 cents and it is hard to get canned tomatoes for the cost of the Whole Foods jarred sauce.

  10. We were just saying at breakfast today that the Whole Foods Sundried Tomatos are some of the best and most affordable, especially good in the winter once we have used up all of our summer harvest!

Leave a comment